see all music

George's Sonatas and Man Dances

20 mins, solo piano

A book of Sonatas composed for George Xiaoyuan Fu and the Royal Academy of Music's 200th anniversary commissions. Composed between the first 2020 lockdown and the premiere in 2022.


William Marsey - George's Sonata Book (Sample) by William Marsey on Scribd


Past performances
  1. George Fu plays George's Sonata book in a programme of work written for RAM's 200th anniversary.

  2. Natalie Burch is playing a few of my piano pieces in a concert the University of Glasgow, alongside Heloise Werner singing music by herself and Jonathan Woolgar. Concert is free to attend online and in-person, see here:

  3. Joseph Havlat explores a selection of music inspired by the Bishopsgate Institute collections


    May 2021


    Bishopsgate Recital online

    Joseph Havlat's recital at the Bishopsgate Institute, on the theme of Resist!, is now online, featuring four pieces by me and music from Rzewski, Michael Finnissy and Isabella Gellis. Watch online for free here