Dutch Indoor Subjects

25 mins, piano

The album and sheet music can be bought here

Streaming links are here

Dutch Indoor Subjects is inspired by the Dutch paintings of painting, everyday scenes from the 15- and 1600s.

Track 7, Belmont Chill, was nominated for BASCA British Composer Award 2018

An album of these pieces is out now on my bandcamp, played by Joseph Havlat. The PDF sheet music can also be bought there.

Sheet music

Dutch Indoor Subjects Full score PDF download


Shipping: £0

27 pages

Total £15.00

Purchase Info

PDF sales

PDFs will be automatically prepared and you will receive a download link within an hour after purchase, sent to the email associated with your paypal account.

PDFs are for personal use only. Do not distribute them to others or print out extra copies for friends or students.

If you'd like to perform or distribute the work please contact me at [email protected].

Physical sheet music sales

Sheet music is posted within 4 working days of receipt of payment.


Physical goods are sent by standard 2nd class post.

Upcoming events
  1. Thomas Ades performs Belmont Chill from Dutch Indoor Subjects, in a piano recital with works by Janacek, Stanchinsky, Nancarrow, and his own work.

Past events
  1. Richard Uttley plays pieces from Dutch Indoor Subjects.

  2. Album out on for download and in physical CD on bandcamp, and available to stream on a number of services from 3 June.

  3. George Fu plays a few of my piano pieces at the Reston Community Centre's 'Meet the Artists' series
  4. George Fu is playing a few of my piece at the next Listenpony, hosted by Barnes festival. It's alongside a load of great music! Click for tickets.
  5. Recorded at BBC Open Ear at LSO St Luke's earlier in the year, Joseph Havlat performing.

  6. Excerpts broadcast, Joseph Havlat playing, as part of a behind the scenes programme about the LSO Open Ear concert.

  7. Joseph Havlat plays a few pieces from the ongoing piano series Dutch Indoor Subjects, arranged for Piano, Celeste and Toy Piano, at BBC Radio 3 Open Ear. Recorded to be Broadcast on BBC Radio 3 and the BBC World Service.

  8. Joseph Havlat plays a selection of pieces from Dutch Indoor Subjects, in a concert with Abrahamsen Marchenbilder and Ligeti Piano Concerto conducted by Will cole, part of RAM's piano festival.

  9. A Lady at her Toilet is played by George Fu, on Listenpony's tour to Centrala Birmingham, the Anthony Burgess Foundation Manchester, and the Playground Theatre London.


    May 2021


    Bishopsgate Recital online

    Joseph Havlat's recital at the Bishopsgate Institute, on the theme of Resist!, is now online, featuring four pieces by me and music from Rzewski, Michael Finnissy and Isabella Gellis. Watch online for free here

    Nov 2018


    Belmont Chill British Composer Award nomination

    Very excited to have recieved a nomination this year from BASCA for my solo piano piece Belmont Chill! Listen to it here.

    Feb 2018


    Banff centre residency

    For the last 5 weeks, I have been a musician-in-residence at the fantastic Banff Centre. I have to thank the generosity of the Royal Academy of Music, Help Musicians UK and some private donors for allowing me to be there, it was a fantastic experience.

    I went there principally to work on the piece for 15 instruments I've written for the Royal Academy of Music Manson Ensemble and Oliver Knussen, which I've named Dances of Travel, but I also worked on some solo piano pieces, sketches for few chamber works and a whole load more. And I met and worked with some great musicians.

    I was a brilliant and surreal experience composing in a little room on the side of the mountain in Canadian winter (-47°C was the coldest...). ...pictures up on my instagram soon.